Is pure vanilla extract gluten free?

Short answer, yes.

Vanilla beans and pure vanilla extract are gluten free.

Vanilla beans and pure vanilla extract are gluten free.

Pure vanilla extract is gluten free. That is a fact. There is no place for gluten to hide or lurk. Unfortunately, there’s an abundance of misinformation regarding the gluten free status of pure vanilla extract.

Vanilla beans extracted in distilled alcohol make pure vanilla extract.

In the United States, legal criteria must be met to be labeled pure vanilla extract.  The FDA standard of identity includes vanilla bean extraction in a distilled alcohol.  Distilled alcohol is gluten free, of course.  The distillation process prevents protein from vaporizing into the final distillate.  The only other permitted ingredients are: water, glycerin, propylene glycol, sugar, invert sugar, glucose, and corn syrup.  The other ingredients can be added to enhance the perceived flavor qualities and to speed up the extraction process.

Lochhead pure vanilla extract

Nielsen-Massey, McCormick, Lochhead, Tone’s, Durkee . . . any brand that you see labeled as pure vanilla extract is gluten free.

If you’ve ever extracted vanilla beans in plain water, you know it takes forever.  I’d suggest using vodka or any other distilled alcohol if you want to make your own. Here’s a lovely post on how to make vanilla extract.   It takes a while to make though, so buying ready to use vanilla extract is the way to go if you want to bake right nowNielsen-Massey, McCormick, Watkins, Lochhead, Tone’s, Durkee . . . any brand that you see labeled as pure vanilla extract is gluten free.

Ready to bake? Check out some of my favorite gluten free recipes here.

Comments

  1. failed fat lady says:

    Greeeeeeeeat Blog Love the Infomation you have provided me .

  2. Reblogged this on dulce bella and commented:
    Very well written piece I found about vanilla extract I thought I’d share….

  3. Thanks, Angel!

  4. Just yesterday, I read on Trader Joe’s pure vanilla extract package that it is made on equipment exposed to wheat. So…..

  5. How curious. I’m not familiar with products from Trader Joe’s. That statement could be a cya disclaimer. I’d suggest purchasing from a different source. There are companies that have taken the extra step to become certified gluten free by a third party. http://www.nielsenmassey.com/culinary/faq.php

Trackbacks

  1. [...] whatever you really need to do to is much less than two minutes having a solitary simply click on gluten free dieting. The volume of men and women, that are identified to be affected by Coeliac conditions, is booming. [...]

  2. [...] 1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract [...]

Speak Your Mind

*

mental_floss store